In the early fall of 1909, the Methodist Board of Church Extension paid $1,500 for a lot at 5101 Broadway with the intention of someday erecting a church there. At a request from several local ranching families, a tent was soon erected to offer worship and Sunday school in Alamo Heights. Reverend T.F. Sessions served as the first pastor of Alamo Heights United Methodist Church; however it wouldn’t be until July of 1910 that construction started on a wooden structure. From these humble beginnings, the church congregation grew alongside the surrounding neighborhood community. With demand for more space and additional functionality, the church continued to build and re-build their facility on Broadway until the early 1990’s.
In 1991, after conducting a capital campaign to once again enlarge the church campus only to be denied expansion by the City of Alamo Heights, the congregation voted overwhelmingly to move the location of the church to East Basse Road which was formerly part of San Antonio Portland Cement Company’s property. G.W. Mitchell Construction was commissioned to be the general contractor and in May of 1993 construction began of the new 87,000 square foot church complex. Mitchell worked very closely with both the church leaders and design team of Hesson Andrews Sotomayor Sprinkle Robey Architects from project inception to completion. The result is a timeless, elegant cathedral-like sanctuary with functional classroom and office space in both the east and west wings, a large fellowship hall and second worship area.
On September 18, 1994, the church held its first worship service on Basse Road. With over 100 years of history, Alamo Heights United Methodist Church now stands as an iconic landmark of San Antonio as well as a spiritual beacon for the community. Its magnificent workmanship and architecture of the structure itself is a beautiful representation of the inspirational and impactful work the church continuously does for their congregation and the city of San Antonio.